Archives Committee Chairman Patricia Bing pictured in photo left. 

December 2018

Archives Committee

History of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ® 

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® is an international service organization that was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. in 1908. It is the oldest Greek-letter organization established by African-American college educated women, comprised of over 1018 chapters and almost 300,000 members in the United States and the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Bahamas, Germany, Liberia, South Korea, Japan, Canada, South Africa, and the Middle East.  The Sorority’s mission of “Service to All Mankind” that began in 1908 continues today and has been at the forefront of positive change in American life.  Today, Alpha Kappa Alpha continues to fulfill the service imperatives avowed by our founders through creative programs, awareness, advocacy, action and collaborative partnerships. For more information on Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ® and its programs, visit

Pi Theta Omega Makes History in North Atlantic Region

Charter Members, Director of the North Jersey Genealogy, North Atlantic Regional Director,  Mary Bentley LaMar,

Chapter President Aida Roberts-Bush and Past Presidents of Pi Theta Omega.  

Pi Theta Omega was the first Greek lettered organization in Morris County to have an exhibit at a Morris County library having Exhibits in February-April 2017 and in March 2018 at the Morris County Library.  Pi Theta Omega also donated a copy of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated history book, Priceless Pearls, Dimensions of Sisterhood and Service.  

Pi Theta Omega continues to make history in the name of service to all mankind with the unveiling of its repository in the North Jersey History and Genealogy Center on December 18, 2018.

Pi Theta Omega Chapter is the FIRST chapter in the North Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated to establish a repository.  

The History of Pi Theta Omega Chapter

In the Spring of 1984, five members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ® in the Morristown, New Jersey area met for lunch to discuss the feasibility of establishing a new chapter of the Sorority.  The excitement and enthusiasm of these five women planted the seed that would mushroom to generate the first spirit of  Alpha Kappa Alpha power in the Morristown area.  The five women, who became the steering committee, developed a goal statement, purpose statement, and calendar of activities.

In October, the committee invited 35 Alpha Kappa Alpha women in the Morris County area to a luncheon.  This luncheon was the official birth of the Morristown Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®  Interest Group. All in attendance voted to move ahead with the ultimate goal of chartering a Morristown Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated  ® chapter.

In September of 1985, the North Atlantic Regional Director, Ruth C. Easley, formally met the Morristown Alpha Kappa Alpha Interest Group and outlined the responsibilities and procedures for chartering a chapter.  Interim officers were elected in October 1985.  The Interest Group submitted the required package for consideration by Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ®  in February 1986, and received notification of acceptance in March of that year.

The chartering of Pi Theta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ®  on May 31, 1986, with her 22 members,  marked the establishment of the first African-American Greek organization in Morristown, New Jersey, and the beginning of what will be a long legacy of Alpha Kappa Alpha sisterhood and service to the community.

 Pi Theta Omega leadership positions have been held by many visionary women. Former chapter Presidents in succession were: Gayle Lloyd (1986-1990), Linda Harley (1990-1994), Mitzi Abney-Wisdom (1994-1998), Vera Blossom (1998-2000), Carolyn Mims (2000-2004), Tammy Williams-Blackwell (2004-2008), Kisha Pippins-Fields (2008-2010), Joyce Malliet (2010-2014), Regenia Moore-Lee (2014-2016) , Aida Roberts-Bush (2016-2020), Carolyne Wright Hopkins (2020-2022), and currently Reba Blake.


Pi Theta Omega Charter Members attending 30th Anniversary Celebration in 2016

Site Last Updated:  June 20, 2024

 Technical Concerns:
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is not responsible for the design nor content of these web pages.  
They are the sole property and responsibility of the 
Pi Theta Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this web site.
Our website is optimized across all of the major web browsers - Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, and Safari. 

Copyright 2014.   Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.  Pi Theta Omega​ Chapter.   All rights reserved.